I know what you’re thinking: this movie is still in theatres (well on my side of the Atlantic at least) so how come it’s on this blog ? Well I just write about what inspires me and after seeing this, I thought there was more to it than meets the eye… and there is (see the Trivia section for example). Anyway, here goes :

zombie_parade_Warm-Bodies - Copie

Why I watched it : Well the girls wanted to go to the movies… I’m not so big on romantic comedies, I’m better with supernatural / comedies and action movies… This is a hybrid so ‘course I’m in !

 

Tagline : Take you pick there’s like 15 of them !

Meet R, He’s a zombie.

Love is in the R.

You had me at brains.

Brain : Alive & Dreaming, Stomach : Starving for love.

He was dead inside, until he met her.

Love means never having to say you’re undead.


warm-bodies-posters WARM-BODIES-duo

Cold body. Warm heart.

He’s still dead but he’s getting warmer.

There’s nothing hotter than a girl with brains.

Dead sexy.

Bros before brains.

Who says romance is dead ?

                              Warm-Bodies-poster-Loveimages

Who is in it :

Director: Jonathan Levine (Director of 50/50, The Wackness, All the boys love Mandy Lane. I’ve seen 50/50 twice. It’s was hilarious the first time, heartbreaking the second [yes I’ve already told that story and yes I like brackets within brackets!], the Wackness is on my watchlist and All the boys love Mandy Lane … was original it just could have been better. Can’t remember the number of time I’ve thought that a movie could have been so much further in its story… I know it’s so much easier said than done… but then again I’m not a screenplay writer !)

Writers: Jonathan Levine (for the screenplay) & Isaac Marion (novel)

Warm-Bodies_portrait_w858 Warm-Bodies-011

Nicholas Hoult : R. Zombie, narrator and main character. For some reason he chooses to save Julie and his afterlife will be changed forever.

(You’ve seen Nic in About a Boy, alongside Hugh Grant, in the US version of skins, Clash of the Titans but you’re most likely to have seen him in X-men : First Class, which I’m apparently the only one to dislike. He’s also the Jack of Jack the Giant Slayer, now in theatres, well in France at least. He’ll be back as Hank McCoy / Beast in the very anticipated X-Men : Days of Future Past)

Teresa Palmer : Julie Grigio, Human, daughter of the leader of the human resistance. Falls to a group of zombies, and is rescued by R. She will become the spokesman of the zombies to her father.

(I know Teresa as Number 6 from the movie I am number 4, with Alex Pettyfer, Timothy Olyphant & Diana Agron. Apparently she was also in December boys, the first non-Harry-Potter, Daniel Radcliffe movie, and Take me home tonight, with my favorite 70’s show star Topher Grace. Right now you’ll see her in Wish you were here in theatres. I’m starting to believe all actors signed a clause where they promised to have 2 movies out at the same time !)

Hello my name is R

Dave Franco : Perry Kelvin. Human, Julie’s boyfriend and admirer of her father.

 

(Yup he’s James’ little bro ! I know him from Greek aka Gr∑∑k, Priviledged or Scrubs. He was noticed in Charlie St. Cloud with Zac “Swoon” Efron, and later in 21 Jump Street, that joke of a movie, with Jonah Hill & Channing Tatum, that destroyed a great TV show ! and the memory of young handsome Depp)

Analeigh Tipton : Nora, Human, Julie’s friend, wants to be a nurse.

(Analeigh had a small part in the Green Hornet)

Rob Corddry : M (Marcus)

(Ok the Chuck & Larry, Harold & Kumar etc is not my kind of BS but W. ‘s definitely on my list, Hot tub time machine might get there if I’m reaaaaaaally bored, and I’m really looking forward to being disappointed by Rapturepalooza ! My friend also pointed out that he’s the lawyer who ratted out Jeff in Community)

John Malkovich : Colonel Grigio. Human, Leader of the human resistance. Will shoot any zombie on sight and hates them because they killed his wife.

(well the crazy genius has been in 83 movies so there’s work for you if you don’t know him but here are his must-see movies : Dangerous Liaisons 1988 version, In the line of fire, Mary Reilly, The man in the Iron Mask [see below], Being John Malkovich [which I really don’t recommend], the awesome Hitchicker’s guide to the galaxy [H2G2] even though I didn’t really like his part in it, Color me Kubrick, definitely skip Eragon, especially if you liked the books, Burn after reading, the crazy awesome RED [Retired Extremely Dangerous] with Bruuuuuuuce Williiiiiiiiiis ! and look out for RED 2 !)

WARM BODIES

What it is : Zombie Romance !

 

What it is about :

R is not your usual zombie. First, he knows he’s dead, second, he thinks. Slowly, granted, for instance he cannot remember his full name, just that it starts with an “R”.

In the famous “not so distant future”, when most of the world’s population has become a zombie, R meets Julie. She is one of the few remaining humans, daughter of the leader of the human resistance. R. saves Julie’s life and tries to protect her from other zombies. As their relationship develops, R seems to regain more consciousness as well as his humanity. The feelings spread to the rest of the zombies who form an alliance to save the humans from the Bonies, an animal kind of zombies with not much left on their skeletons who will eat anything with or without a heartbeat.

 

What I liked about it :

I wanted to see it because it looked funny and it is ! And when you start digging it gets better ! For starters the dialogues are awesome, but the monologues are better ! I love pretty much every thought of R’s ! Oh boy … I think I’m in love with a zombie too !

I think it’s even more interesting when you know about the Romeo & Juliet reference. I guess I’ll wait for it to come out on dvd to watch it again and try to catch all those references. There’s of course the scene of the balcony, The fact that Julie’s dad is against their relationship, and at least one of them is dead !

I think you’ll understand why I like it when you read the (many) quotes I added to this article. Okay it’s not a big deal ! It’s not a spoiler or anything the first 8 are most of the monologue from the opening of the movie. Most of the quotes you’ll find in the teasers/trailers available on the web… Plus as long as you’ve read the synopsis you know basically the entire story, what’s interesting is how it develops.

WARM-BODIES_Nicholas-Hoult_Rob-Corddry_Jonathan-Levine

Only critic : If you’re going to do SFX do it well … I’m sorry but those Bonies running look like a cheap animation: their motions are just wrong, they look like they’re not under the same gravity laws as everyone & end up looking like their not really touching the ground… They’re just wrong … i mean other than the fact that they are supposed to be badly decomposed zombies and since their muscles are so rotten they shouldn’t be able to run or be supple enough to bend their knees without something popping out of place ! That’s the reason Zombies can’t run and are bound to limping aroung slowly : because their blodflow is interupted (no beating heart) and they are decomposing ! This movie finally gives us a reason as to why they’re supposed to be eating brains (they can “see” the dead person’s memories and it is the closest they can come to dreaming)… okay other movies or books might give reasons for this but I’m not a zombie expert and frankly I could care less ! (Nope haven’t started watching the Walking Dead and I cannot garranty I ever will, even though it’s on my list… reminder my list is over 900 items long!)

Anyway that was my little rant of the day… As I said earlier, I wish the story could have been a little deeper, it could have gone further with the concept but don’t ask how or why cuz I don’t know ! It’s just a general feeling I had at the end of the movie… I think this article is getting a little long now so I’ll just stop there …

WARM BODIES

Quotes :

[First lines, introduction of the movie]

R: [thinking] What am I doing with my life? I’m so pale. I should get out more. I should eat better. My posture’s horrible. I should stand up straighter. People would respect me more if I stood up straighter. What’s wrong with me? I just want to connect. Why can’t I connect with people? Oh, right, it’s cause I’m dead. I shouldn’t be so hard on myself, I mean, we’re all dead.

R: [thinking] This girl’s dead. That guy’s dead. That guy in the corner is definitely dead. These guys look awful.

R: [thinking] I wish I could introduce myself but I don’t remember my name anymore. I mean, think it started with an R but that’s all I have left. I can’t remember my name or my parents or my job. Although my hoodie would suggest I was unemployed. Sometimes I look at the others and try to imagine what they were. You were a janitor. You were the rich son of a corporate CEO. You were a personal trainer and now you’re a corpse.

R: [thinking] I have a hard time piecing together how this whole apocalypse thing happened. Could have been chemical warfare, or airborne virus or a radioactive outbreak monkey but it doesn’t matter. This is what we are now.

R: [thinking] This is a typical day for me. I shuffle around, occasionally bumping into people, unable to apologize or say much of anything. It must have been so much better before when everyone could express themselves, communicate their feelings and just enjoy each other’s company.

R: [thinking] Oh man, they call these guys bonies. They don’t bother us much but they’ll eat anything with a heartbeat. I mean, I will too but at least I’m conflicted about it. We all become them someday. At some point you just give up I guess. You lose hope. After that there’s no turning back. […] This is what I have to look forward to. It’s kind of a bummer.

R: [thinking] I don’t want to be this way. I’m lonely. I’m lost. Wait, I’m literally lost. I’ve never been in this part of the airport before.

R: [thinking] This is my best friend. By best friend I mean we occasionally grunt and stare awkwardly at each other. We even have almost conversations sometimes. Days pass this way but sometimes we even find actual words, words like ‘hungry’ and ‘city’

warm-bodies2

R: [Before taking a bite from Perry, Julie’s boyfriend] Nice watch.

 

[R, trying to hide Julie from other zombies]

R: Be dead

[Julie overacts like a zombie]

R: Too much

 

R: [thinking] Don’t be creepy. Don’t be creepy. Don’t be creepy.

 

R: [thinking] This date isn’t going well. I want to die all over again.

 

[After Julie left R]

M: You ok?

R: No.

M: Bitches man.

 

Nora[to Julie] : You miss him… like a boyfriend… you miss your zombie boyfriend?

 

[R shows up in the human quarters, under Julie’s balcony, Romeo style]

Nora: Oh my God is it him ?

Julie: Yeah

[R waves to them]

Nora: [To R] What’s up?!

 

Nora: “How’d you die?”

R: “I don’t remember.”

Nora: “How old are you? Because you could be 20-something but you could also be a teenager. You know, you have one of those faces.”

Julie: “Oh my god”

Nora: “And you know he doesn’t smell right, he doesn’t smell rotten… Amazing!”

Julie: “Nora, he didn’t come here for an interview. Stop!”

Warm-Bodies-Teresa-Palmer-Dave-Franco

R: [trying to blend in while in the human city] H-hi.

R: [thinking] Say something human… [out loud] How… are… you…?

R: [thinking] Nailed it.

 

Julie: They’re changing, Dad. They’re somehow curing themselves.

General Grigio: No, you know what is happening, Julie? What’s happening is that everyday there’s more of them and less of us. They’re not curing themselves. We’re their food source. They are not becoming vegan.

 

Perry: You started something. Whatever it is that you two have, it’s affecting the others.

[After R asks if the zombies will fight the bonies in order to save the humans, the zombies moan in agreement]

M: They say… Fuck, yeah!

 

Soldier : We have corpses fighting the skeletons, sir.

 

Trivia :

The story is based loosely on Romeo and Juliet. R = Romeo; Julie = Juliet; Perry = Paris; M/Marcus = Mercutio; Nora = Juliet’s Nurse (the character of Nora is also a nurse).

The character Nora was originally described as having brown skin and being half Ethiopian, but they instead decided to go with a Caucasian actress (Analeigh Tipton).

When R is talking to Julie outside her house the scene is referencing to the balcony scene of Romeo and Juliet. R (Romeo) is talking to Julie (Juliet) on the balcony.

The actors portraying the zombies in this film chose not to blink. It was particularly uncomfortable for Nicholas Hoult who did a few long scenes without blinking. Later in the film (when the zombies become more human), the zombies start blinking.

This film, which is set mostly in and around an airport, references the film Airplane (1980). The phrase “The white zone is for loading and unloading passengers…” can be heard playing over loudspeakers outside the airport terminals in both films.

WARM BODIES

 

The Bonies (bad zombies) were created from CGI with stuntmen performing movements for motion capture. Most of the creative work was done by the makeup teams and they opted for a look quite far from the usual “zombie gore”. “R had to be attractive enough so that Julie could fall in love with him. You couldn’t just see his teeth through shreds of skin, flesh or broken bones, it’s too disgusting, and it did not fit the genre of the film. For me, it was a bit like the zombie version of James Dean”said Adrien Morot, head of the SFX makeup.

The apocalyptico-zombielike atmosphere of Warm Bodies is based on three main sets: the abandoned airport, the Green Zone and Dead Zone. For the first one, the shooting took place in the disused Mirabel airport in Montreal. The team had seriously considered naming the airport “Barack Obama International Airport “, but eventually chose the name “Isaac Marion International Airport” in honor of the author of the novel. The other two zones were created by film production designer Martin Whist, in Old Montreal. For the Dead Zone, decorators covered buildings with a special material they could cover with tags and graffitis.

 

Videos :

and now three videos you might want to check out. The first one is the Trailer of the movie :

 

The second one is the first 4 minutes of the movie, where you’ll find most of the quotes up there :

 

And finally, you know how much I enjoy a good BTS look (That’s behind the scenes … it might be a personnal abreviation I don’t know…) so here goes :

